Collections

There is something so amusing about collections.  It usually takes years to accumulate different pieces to make a collection.  When I was just a little girl, I loved to collect.  I collected bugs, butterflies, stamps, coins from other countries, rocks and bird nests.  I have no idea what happened to the bugs, butterflies and stamps, but I still have the coins (mostly from an old neighbor that worked internationally), rocks and one bird nest left in the garage.  How that bird nest managed to stay in one piece through all the moves…. I will never know!

Now I’m in my late 20’s and still collecting.  These days, I am collecting Moonstone depression glass, tea cups, re-jeweled pieces and alway rocks.  I love Moonstone because it’s very rare and it’s crazy to think that the pieces I have were actually made during the Great Depression. The Moonstone pieces I have, I can mostly thank my MIL and mom for.  They are always on the hunt for me!  A few pieces of depression glass came from my Great Grandma Lucy Orlando’s farmhouse in WI.  My tea cups are not just any tea cups you find at the store.  I prefer the Made in England tea cups which are harder to find and of course they have to be passed down to me from family members.  I have tea cups from my Great Grandma’s and Grandma’s.  Others would consider it junk, but I’m sentimental like that.  The re-jeweled pieces are handmade from my awesome-sauce relative here in Boise.  My rock collection has exploded.  (I couldn’t think of a more appropriate word!) We recently bought a different curio cabinet to finally be able to display a handful of rocks.  The others are stored in boxes for now.  Very sad.

I saw on Pinterest a picture of a lady who had a bunch of different shaped and sized crocks on top of a very large cabinet in her kitchen.  That is where this idea stemmed from.  I would love to have a small collection of original Stoneware crocks.  Not to put on a cabinet, but to put on a planter shelf in our dining area.  I usually don’t like “stuff” on planter shelves (in our house especially because of natural light issues), but I’m loving the idea of displaying our family’s old crocks.  In a recent post, I mentioned that I have Grandpa J’s crocks from the farm.  My mom has an old bean crock and milk jug crock that needs a home.  I think that would complete my small collection of stoneware crocks.

IMG_0909
Rejeweled Vintage Hair Pieces
IMG_0914
Great Grandma’s Green Depression Glass

IMG_0921

IMG_0916

photo 2
Pieces of Moonstone

photo 1 photo 3

I would love to hear if anyone else is a collector of certain things!! Happy Thursday!!!

Love, Rach

Leave a comment